Home   |   About   |   Contact   |   Links   |   GBV.com   |   GBV Facebook
Discography:  |  Songs  |  Versions  |  Gigs  |  Advanced Search

Let's Go Eat The Factory

Guided By Voices

Released: 05/18/2014
Format: Cassette
Label: Fire Records/Bad Paintings
Catalog #: FBP002
Country: United Kingdom
Discs: 1
# Tracks: 21
Front Cover
Pressing Details
Vinyl Color # Pressed
N/A 250 
Release Info: 1/1/12 DAYTON, OH: Having finished their year-long victory lap, playing songs from the insanely fertile 1992-1996 period, there was only one thing left for the reunited Guided By Voices to do. Make a new record.

Let's Go Eat The Factory picks up where Under The Bushes, Under The Stars left off, with the classic lineup (Robert Pollard, Tobin Sprout, Greg Demos, Mitch Mitchell, and Kevin Fennell, with help from the reclusive early bandmember Jimmy Pollard) writing and recording 21 songs in lo- to mid-fi splendor in bandmembers' basements and garages. The songs range from face-peeling heavy rock to delicate piano ballads and everything in between. Standouts include the demonically tuneful "Chocolate Boy," the relentless chug of "We Won't Apologize For The Human Race," and instant classic "The Unsinkable Fats Domino."

Fans of GBV's iconic release Bee Thousand will recognize the same gloriously messy aesthetic in Let's Go Eat The Factory, which benefits, too, from the development of Robert Pollard's songwriting in the intervening 15 years and the renewed camaraderie effected by the reunited band's extended tour. The new album will be released on January 1, 2012.

Album released digitally on iTunes on 12/20/2011.

Limited to 250 copies. Cassette tapes can be purchased at www.badpaintings.bigcartel.com. Also available as a bundle of all 5 cassettes released in May 2014: Factory, Class Clown, Bears, Jumpsuit, and Cool Planet (English Little League was released last year).
Let's Go Eat The Factory
Side 1
1.   Laundry & Lasers
2.   The Head
3.   Doughnut For A Snowman
4.   Spiderfighter
5.   Hang Mr. Kite
6.   God Loves Us
7.   The Unsinkable Fats Domino
8.   Who Invented The Sun
9.   The Big Hat And Toy Show
10.  Imperial Racehorsing
Side 2
1.   How I Met My Mother
2.   Waves
3.   My Europa
4.   Chocolate Boy
5.   The Things That Never Need
6.   Either Nelson
7.   Cyclone Utilities (Remember Your Birthday)
8.   Old Bones
9.   Go Rolling Home
10.  The Room Taking Shape
11.  We Won't Apologize For The Human Race
Other Formats
Label - Catalog [Format] (Country) # Tracks
Fire Records - FIRECD248 [CD] (United Kingdom) 21
Fire Records - FIRELP248 [LP] (United Kingdom) 21
Guided By Voices Inc. - GBVI-16 [CD] (U.S.A.) 21
Guided By Voices Inc. - GBVI-16 [LP] (U.S.A.) 21

Album Credits
Role Name
Art Bob
Smoking Rabbit Tob
Role Name
Mastering Roger Seibel
Producer Chief Runningmouth
Producer The Soft Spoken Trout
Role Name
Business Management Eric Weiss
Legal Matters Richard Grabel
Management David Newgarden
Role Name
Additional Album Text A Factory Of Raw Essentials Product
Rockathon Records Kevin Poindexter
Rockathon Records Matt Davis
Rockathon Records Mike Lipps