Home   |   About   |   Contact   |   Links   |   GBV.com   |   GBV Facebook
Discography:  |  Songs  |  Versions  |  Gigs  |  Advanced Search

Let's Go Eat The Factory

Guided By Voices

Released: 01/01/2012
Format: CD
Label: Guided By Voices Inc.
Catalog #: GBVI-16
Country: U.S.A.
Discs: 1
# Tracks: 21
Buy Online
TheFactoryOfRawEssentials.Com  TheFactoryOfRawEssentials.Com: Buy CD
Front Cover
Release Info: 1/1/12 DAYTON, OH: Having finished their year-long victory lap, playing songs from the insanely fertile 1992-1996 period, there was only one thing left for the reunited Guided By Voices to do. Make a new record.

Let's Go Eat The Factory picks up where Under The Bushes, Under The Stars left off, with the classic lineup (Robert Pollard, Tobin Sprout, Greg Demos, Mitch Mitchell, and Kevin Fennell, with help from the reclusive early bandmember Jimmy Pollard) writing and recording 21 songs in lo- to mid-fi splendor in bandmembers' basements and garages. The songs range from face-peeling heavy rock to delicate piano ballads and everything in between. Standouts include the demonically tuneful "Chocolate Boy," the relentless chug of "We Won't Apologize For The Human Race," and instant classic "The Unsinkable Fats Domino."

Fans of GBV's iconic release Bee Thousand will recognize the same gloriously messy aesthetic in Let's Go Eat The Factory, which benefits, too, from the development of Robert Pollard's songwriting in the intervening 15 years and the renewed camaraderie effected by the reunited band's extended tour. The new album will be released on January 1, 2012.

Album released digitally on iTunes on 12/20/2011.
Let's Go Eat The Factory
1.   Laundry & Lasers
2.   The Head
3.   Doughnut For A Snowman
4.   Spiderfighter
5.   Hang Mr. Kite
6.   God Loves Us
7.   The Unsinkable Fats Domino
8.   Who Invented The Sun
9.   The Big Hat And Toy Show
10.  Imperial Racehorsing
11.  How I Met My Mother
12.  Waves
13.  My Europa
14.  Chocolate Boy
15.  The Things That Never Need
16.  Either Nelson
17.  Cyclone Utilities (Remember Your Birthday)
18.  Old Bones
19.  Go Rolling Home
20.  The Room Taking Shape
21.  We Won't Apologize For The Human Race
Other Formats
Label - Catalog [Format] (Country) # Tracks
Fire Records - FIRECD248 [CD] (United Kingdom) 21
Fire Records - FIRELP248 [LP] (United Kingdom) 21
Fire Records/Bad Paintings - FBP002 [Cassette] (United Kingdom) 21
Guided By Voices Inc. - GBVI-16 [LP] (U.S.A.) 21

Album Credits
Role Name
Art Bob
Smoking Rabbit Tob
Role Name
Mastering Roger Seibel
Producer Chief Runningmouth
Producer The Soft Spoken Trout
Role Name
Business Management Eric Weiss
Legal Matters Richard Grabel
Management David Newgarden
Role Name
Additional Album Text A Factory Of Raw Essentials Product
Rockathon Records Kevin Poindexter
Rockathon Records Matt Davis
Rockathon Records Mike Lipps