Home   |   About   |   Contact   |   Links   |   GBV.com   |   GBV Facebook
Discography:  |  Songs  |  Versions  |  Gigs  |  Advanced Search

Zeppelin Over China

Guided By Voices

Released: 02/01/2019
Format: 2 LP
Label: Guided By Voices Inc.
Catalog #: GBVI-87
Country: U.S.A.
Discs: 2
# Tracks: 32
Front Cover
Bob Note Posted On GBV Website
Original Release Notes: Zeppelin Over China is a major and majestic work in the GBV canon, spotlighting the scope and genius of Pollard's songwriting. With 32 songs in 75 minutes, the massive Zeppelin reaches lofty heights on its musical journey. Pollard continues to deliver endless invention and emotional wallop in 2 and 3-minute guitar rock gems.

Pollard has assembled his greatest supporting cast ever -- Doug Gillard (guitar), Kevin March (drums), Mark Shue (bass), Bobby Bare Jr. (guitar) and Travis Harrison (engineer) -- and this line-up's virtuosic talents spur him to his most ambitious work yet, a grand album of emotional resonance and narrative drama

After well-deserved acclaim for the mind-boggling milestone of Pollard's 100 career albums, Zeppelin Over China is a wonderful entry point for new listeners to experience Guided By Voices for the first time. Not resting on his laurels, Pollard's tireless tenacity pays off with spectacular results.

A "32 song Guided By Voices epic double album" was mentioned by Bob in a note posted to GuidedByVoices.com on July 11th, 2018.

Side Two label is misprinted: Track 6 says "Jam Warsong" and Track 7 says "Flight Advantage" (a song from Space Gun).
Zeppelin Over China (Disc 1)
Side A
1.   Good Morning Sir 1:10
2.   Step Of The Wave 3:00
3.   Carapace 3:03
4.   Send In The Suicide Squad 2:06
5.   Blurring The Contacts 1:57
6.   Your Lights Are Out 3:25
7.   Windshield Wiper Rex 1:29
8.   Holy Rhythm 2:39
Side B
1.   Jack Tell 3:20
2.   Bellicose Starling 2:15
3.   Wrong Turn On 1:49
4.   Charmless Peters 3:21
5.   The Rally Boys 1:44
6.   Think. Be A Man 2:31
7.   Jam Warsong 2:30
8.   You Own The Night 3:24
Total Length: 39:43
Zeppelin Over China (Disc 2)
Side C
1.   Everything's Thrilling 2:13
2.   Nice About You 1:57
3.   Einstein's Angel 2:37
4.   The Hearing Department 3:18
5.   Questions Of The Test 3:00
6.   No Point 2:06
7.   Lurk Of The Worm 3:02
8.   Zeppelin Over China 0:39
Side D
1.   Where Have You Been All My Life 1:49
2.   Cold Cold Hands 1:57
3.   Transpiring Anathema 2:03
4.   We Can Make Music 1:43
5.   Cobbler Ditches 1:49
6.   Enough Is Never At The End 1:14
7.   My Future In Barcelona 3:49
8.   Vertiginous Raft 1:44
Total Length: 35:00
Other Formats
Label - Catalog [Format] (Country) # Tracks
Guided By Voices Inc. - GBVI-87 [CD] (U.S.A.) 32

Album Credits
Role Name
Art Department Joe Patterson
Art Department Robert Pollard
Art Department Vince Williams
Art Management Sarah Zade-Pollard
Layout Joe Patterson
Layout Robert Pollard
Role Name
Engineer (Music) Ray Ketchem
Engineer (Music) Travis Harrison
Engineer (Vocals) Travis Harrison
Mastering Travis Harrison
Mixing Travis Harrison
Producer Travis Harrison
Role Name
Recording Location (Music) Magic Door - Montclair, NJ
Recording Location (Music) Serious Business Music - Brooklyn (Dumbo), NY
Recording Location (Vocals) Stillwater Lodge - Dayton, OH
Role Name
Horn Arrangement Doug Gillard
String Arrangement Doug Gillard
Role Name
Copyright 2019
Publisher Needmore Songs
Songwriter Robert Pollard
Role Name
Business Management Eric Weiss
Legal Richard Grabel
Management David Newgarden
Role Name
Additional Album Text A Factory Of Raw Essentials Product
Additional Album Text Guided By Voices, Inc.
Additional Album Text www.robertpollard.net
Additional Album Text www.robertpollardart.com
Additional Album Text www.rockathonrecords.com
Rockathon Records Kevin Poindexter
Rockathon Records Matt Davis
Rockathon Records Mike Lipps