Home   |   About   |   Contact   |   Links   |   GBV.com   |   GBV Facebook
Discography:  |  Songs  |  Versions  |  Gigs  |  Advanced Search

Moses On A Snail

Robert Pollard

Released: 06/22/2010
Format: CD
Label: Guided By Voices Inc.
Catalog #: GBVI-11
Country: U.S.A.
Discs: 1
# Tracks: 12
Buy Online
TheFactoryOfRawEssentials.Com  TheFactoryOfRawEssentials.Com: Buy CD
Front Cover
Release notes:
Robert Pollard Is Undefeated!

Has any artist had a run like Pollard since striking out on his own with the launch of GBV INC in 2008? With the release of Moses On A Snail, Pollard has put out an unbelieveable 12 albums in a roughly 2-year span. That's not including all of the various EPs, singles, and a (third) box set of outtakes and unreleased tracks.

Moses On A Snail contains a dozen amazingly strong Pollard compositions. Even for this ridiculously prolific songwriter, this was a notable writing session as 10 of the 12 songs were written in one sitting.

As Pollard describes the process, he started with a notebook of working song titles, and penned 22 songs in a single afternoon's creative burst. He discarded 12, and ten songs were picked to later revise and flesh out. He made demos to send to frequent producer / collaborator Todd Tobias, who recorded the instruments before Pollard recorded his final vocals.

This batch of songs finds a somber, more reflective, yet ultimately triumphant Pollard on such instant classics as "Arrows and Balloons", "Each is Good in His Own House", "It's a Pleasure Being You", and the enormous title track "Moses on a Snail" which culminates in a dramatic (and atypical) minute-long guitar lead to close the album. Elsewhere, the elegiac "Teardrop Paintballs" is a seriously heartbreaking melody, and the (dare we call it) mellow opener "The Weekly Crow" reminds us to tell you that there will be a Pollard composition on the forthcoming Glen Campbell album.

Clocking in at a concise 36 minutes, Moses on a Snail begs to be played over and over again as it reveals itself more with each listen. It's an album that begs the question: "What is Robert Pollard going to do next to top this one?"

To be continued...
Moses On A Snail
1.   The Weekly Crow 3:36
2.   A Constant Strangle 2:55
3.   Arrows And Balloons 2:28
4.   Lie Like A Dog 3:04
5.   Ice Cold War 3:15
6.   Each Is Good In His Own House 3:55
7.   How I've Been In Trouble 2:30
8.   It's News 1:53
9.   It's A Pleasure Being You 3:06
10.  Big Time Wrestling 3:06
11.  Teardrop Paintballs 1:58
12.  Moses On A Snail 5:20
Total Length: 37:06
Other Formats
Label - Catalog [Format] (Country) # Tracks
Guided By Voices Inc. - GBVI-11 [LP] (U.S.A.) 12