Home   |   About   |   Contact   |   Links   |   GBV.com   |   GBV Facebook
Discography:  |  Songs  |  Versions  |  Gigs  |  Advanced Search

Fiction Man

Robert Pollard

Released: 05/10/2004
Format: LP
Label: Fading Captain Series
Catalog #: 30
Country: U.S.A.
Discs: 1
# Tracks: 14
Front Cover
Back Cover
Sleeve Image
Back Cover Closeup
Record (This Side)
Record (Other Side)
Pressing Details
Vinyl Color # Pressed
Black 500 
Dead Wax Inscriptions
Side Inscription
A Robert Pollard
B Fiction Man
Songs written by Robert Pollard. Instruments by Todd Tobias. The majority of the lyrics and almost all the song titles are based around some of the poems from EAT, Bob's literary magazine. The Louis Armstrong of Rock and Roll is actually an ode to Pete Jamison. Limited Edition LP. Release info: Material that was originally written by mr. pollard a few years ago is taken up north and mr. todd tobias does an unbelievable job of becoming a one-man band (really, these tracks swing like a group) and executing the instrumental side of the compositions. mr. pollard, dare we say natch, composes lyrical and melodious beauty throughout...kids, the next chapter has been written and now told... From RichT: These songs were songs that Bob had demoed during the Earthquake Glue demo time. These were all the leftover songs that he decided not to record. So as producer Todd had the Bob acoustic demos and he took it from there. Lyrically most of the songs were different back then.
Fiction Man
This Side
1.   Run Son Run
2.   I Expect A Kill
3.   Sea Of Dead
4.   Children Come On
5.   The Louis Armstrong Of Rock and Roll
6.   Losing Usage
7.   Built To Improve
Other Side
1.   Paradise Style
2.   Conspiracy Of Owls
3.   It's Only Natural
4.   Trial Of Affliction And Light Sleeping
5.   Every Word In The World
6.   Night Of The Golden Underground
7.   Their Biggest Win
Other Formats
Label - Catalog [Format] (Country) # Tracks
Fading Captain Series - 30 [CD] (U.S.A.) 14

Album Credits
Role Name
Collage - Back Cover Robert Pollard
Layout The Wigtea Collective
Photography Rich Turiel
Photography Sarah Zade-Pollard
Role Name
Instrumentation And Noises Todd Tobias
Vocals Robert Pollard
Role Name
Engineer Todd Tobias
Producer Todd Tobias